Dynamics AX & Real Time Data

Rick Hardy

We current use Microsoft Dynamics AX and would like to integrate Shop Employee login/logout functionality using portable devices. A problem I have is Dynamics does not like outside applications to create records (SQL) within its database so I was looking at a way around this. AX is very customizable where it can read outside databases/tables remotely to bring in records but I would like to have TracerPlus create the records immediately (for multiple reasons). AX also has a .NET business connector that can be used within a remote app if that would help at all. I am a developer and can create what is needed, the problem is I'm not sure the best way to do this. Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

Rick

Dan Peluso

Staff member
Hi,

Most enterprise software like Dynamics does not encourage directly writing to the data tables so it makes sense that Dynamics would want to limit this. Most applications, including Dynamics do allow for outside data updates via some type of business rules engine accessible via SDK, web service or similar type of 'controlled' update process. Via TracerPlus Connect we do offer some flexible data transfer options but none that directly support Dynamics unfortunately. The 2 most common options of our customers seem to be.

1. Write TracerPlus data to some intermediate/landing table and import them into Dynamics via some timed or triggered process to formally import them. In your case, this could be via the .Net business connector. Using this approach along with some type of database trigger (Insert, Update, etc) could make this near real-time.

2. Contact us to discuss customization options to directly integrate Dynamics as a direct plug-in to TracerPlus Connect using the recommended 3rd party integration tools that Dynamics provides.

Let me know if this helps.

Rick Hardy

Hi,