Running TracerPlus Connect as a Service

Hi All

I am still a bit of a newbie to TracerPlus, as I only work on it for one customer, and that's only part-time.

I have noticed that TracerPlus Connect does not automatically run as a 'service' and therefore needs the application to be running in order for the Connect Server to run. Are there any guides anywhere as to how to change TracerPlus Connect to a Service that runs automatically, as it will eventually be hosted on an applications server.

Many thanks, and pardon my ignorance if the answer is obvious.

OliverR

Hi Tom, TracerPlus Connect should run as a service after you've installed it. You should see a little TracerPlus icon in the system tray that monitors the service; clicking on it allows you to stop and start the service.

You can check by running services.msc and looking for the TracerPlus Connect 9 Sync Server service. It should be started and its startup type should be automatic. If the service is running, the TracerPlus Connect Management Studio does not need to be running to sync with a device. However, note that if you want to sync through the service you should specify the correct port the service is running on when configuring your host in your mobile application settings. The default port for the sync service is 4404.

You should also specify which Connect project the service should run; you do this in the Tools -> Preferences menu in Connect.

Hope this helps!

Hi Oliver

Thanks for replying again - I really appreciate your help.

We already have the syncing working fine, but only if we have opened the TracerPlus Connect program. If not, when trying to sync we get a 'Login Failed' error. As soon as I open TracerPlus Connect on the server, the login works and files get transferred OK. I don't have admin rights on the server as they use a 3rd party IT company for server provision and support, so I just need to copy your answer to them and hope they can sort it out.

Thanks again.

Tom

OliverR